Novalis – Hymnen an die Nacht | Harper's Magazine

Sign in to access Harper’s Magazine

Need to create a login? Want to change your email address or password? Forgot your password?

  1. Sign in to Customer Care using your account number or postal address.
  2. Select Email/Password Information.
  3. Enter your new information and click on Save My Changes.

Locked out of your account? Get help here.

Subscribers can find additional help here.

Not a subscriber? Subscribe today!

Get Access to Print and Digital for $23.99.
Subscribe for Full Access
Get Access to Print and Digital for $23.99.
[No Comment]

Novalis – Hymnen an die Nacht



Hinüber wall ich,
Und jede Pein
Wird einst ein Stachel
Der Wollust seyn.
Noch wenig Zeiten,
So bin ich los,
Und liege trunken
Der Lieb’ im Schoos.
Unendliches Leben
Wogt mächtig in mir,
Ich schaue von oben
Herunter nach dir.
An jenem Hügel
Verlischt dein Glanz–
Ein Schatten bringet
Den kühlenden Kranz.
Oh! sauge, Geliebter,
Gewaltig mich an,
Daß ich entschlummern
Und lieben kann.
Ich fühle des Todes
Verjüngende Flut,
Zu Balsam und Äther
Verwandelt mein Blut–
Ich lebe bei Tage
Voll Glauben und Mut
Und sterbe die Nächte
In heiliger Glut.

I quest the beyond,
where every pain
will someday be a barb
of voluptuousness.
Just a bit more time,
and I will be free,
lying intoxicated
in the lap of love.
Life without end
Rocks powerfully within me;
I gaze from above
down at you.
On that hill
your luster is extinguished–
a shadow brings
the cool wreath.
O suckle me, my beloved,
with all your might,
that I might fall asleep
and yet love!
I feel death’s
rejuvenating tides;
into balsam and ether
my blood is passed–
I live by day
full of faith and pluck,
and die by night
in holy fervor.

–Friedrich Freiherr von Hardenberg (Novalis), from Hymnen an die Nacht Nr. 4 (1800) (S.H. transl.) in Werke, Tagebücher und Briefe Friedrich von Hardenbergs, vol. 1, p. 159 (H.J. Mähl & R. Samuel eds. 1978)

Listen to the second movement of Franz Schubert’s Piano Trio No. 2 in E Flat, op. 100, DV 929 (1827) performed by Eugene Istomin, piano, Isaac Stern, violin and Leonard Rose, cello:

More from